Queen’s Diamond Jubilee recipients Announced

WOODSTOCK – Today Ernie Hardeman, Oxford MPP, announced the 14 recipients that he nominated for the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee medal in recognition of their service and contributions.

“These 14 people have all made a difference to their community and I’m honoured to be able to recognize them by presenting them with the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee medal,” said Hardeman. “They have all contributed in different ways but they have all shown a dedication to helping others and to public service.”

The Queen’s Diamond Jubilee medal was created to celebrate the 60 year reign of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II and recognize outstanding citizens who share her dedication to service. Earlier this year Hardemaninvited people to nominate those they felt were deserving of this tribute. The recipients include people who have contributed through volunteering, founding community organizations, serving with NATO and through public office.

The recipients are:
Isabelle Baird – Woodstock
Michael Bossy – Tillsonburg
Don Bucknell – Salford
James Dalueg – Woodstock
David Donovan – Norwich
Duncan Getty – Princeton
Donna Harrison – Bright
Jack Hedges – Woodstock
Wilson McBeath – Ingersoll
Margaret Munnoch – Woodstock
Marion Pratt – Tillsonburg
Lance Steel – Woodstock
Ron Totten – Embro
Hector Verhoeve – Tillsonburg
Hardeman will present the Queen’s Jubilee medals to the recipients at a ceremony later this summer. The medals have a picture of Queen Elizabeth on one side while the reverse marks the diamond anniversary of her accession to the Throne with a diamond shape and the years of the coronation and the anniversary.

“We received nominations for many exceptional people who have contributed greatly to their community,” saidHardeman. “I’m pleased to have this opportunity to recognize some of the people in Oxford who have made outstanding contributions to their peers, our community and our country.”

– 30 –

For more information, contact:
Ernie Hardeman, MPP Oxford
(416) 325-1239